pirates! celia rees

pirates.jpgone from my own personal amelia bloomer project list–

during an eye-opening move to her family’s slave-run plantation in jamaica, nancy finds out her family has betrothed her to a creepy brazilian more than twice her age. hoping to instead marry her childhood sweetheart, she and minerva, her slave/best friend join a band of borderline well-behaved pirates for a swashbuckling adventure on the high seas, with the creepy brazilian hot on the trail.

you don’t run across adventure books of this caliber for teen girls very often. i love this book and everything it stands for. 5 stars!

One response to “pirates! celia rees

  1. Ohh, I loved this book too. And I totally love your banner. Funny stuff that we both have books and shoes. 🙂
    I’ve added you to my blogroll and my Google Reader so I can keep up-to-date on your recommendations.
    Cheers! ~Em

Leave a Reply

